Maples Leafs star Oston Matthews wins 2022 Hart Trophy

The last five NHL awards are handed out on Tuesday. Last for the evening was the Hart Memorial Trophy, given to the most valuable player according to the PHWA vote. After receiving Ted Lindsay Award for the same honor as voted by the players, Maple Leafs Center Austin Matthews was the recipient this year. The other finalists were the Rangers goalkeeper Igor Shesterkin and the Oilers Center Connor McDavid.

It was the year of Matthews’ career in terms of goals (60), assists (46), points (106) and shots on goal (348), with his goals and overall shots leading the league, although he played in only 73 games. His percentage of goals per game (0.82) was the highest in the NHL since Mario Lemio as early as the 1995-96 campaign. This helped Leafs take second place in the Atlantic Division and their most successful season in franchise history in terms of points. Matthews is the third Maple Leaf to win Hart and the first to do so in a long time since the previous Toronto winner was Ted Kennedy as early as 1954-55.

Matthews received 61% of the vote for first place among 195 ballots cast, appearing in all but two. That helped him finish with more than 500 points ahead of McDavid to take the prize, and Shesterkin was a distant third. Four other players received a vote for first place – that of Calgary Johnny GodreauFlorida Jonathan HuberdoNashville Roman Yossi and Minnesota Kirill Kaprizov.

You can find the full voting results TIMES.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.